Table Of Content

Its next owner was Irish man John Joyce, who bought the property the day before Christmas Eve in 1791. Historic documents said he “mysteriously drowned in Mobile” in May 1798. BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) — Magnolia Mound Plantation House is a place where visitors can step into history to get a glimpse of Louisiana’s colonial period.
Sale and tax history for 2079 Mound St
Situated on Estero Bay, the site is accessible by boat and motor traffic and visitors are encouraged to picnic on the park grounds and enjoy the beautiful view. Most homes have some risk of natural disasters, and may be impacted by climate change due to rising temperatures and sea levels. Cost of admission to the Mound House museum for self-guided tours is $10 for adults, $8 for a student with a college ID and free for children ages 5 and under. The museum is open Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday from 9 a.m.
Redfin agents who toured

Sell for top dollar and reach more buyers, all for half the fee. EXPERIENCE A MUSEUM THAT SITS ATOP A 2,000 YEAR OLD CALUSA INDIAN MOUND. Mound House is a unique archaeological and historical site on Fort Myers Beach, located directly on Estero Bay, and offers a variety of programs for local residents, visitors and school groups. There is also a look at the stratification of the mound and how the Calusa built it up over the centuries. It’s no normal hill, rather a composite of seashells and an important piece of Southwest Florida’s history.
Redfin Estimate for 2095 Mound St
Tickets for self-guided tours of the grounds are $5 per person. According to BREC, Magnolia Mound is 16 acres and has a mission to show the lifestyle of the French Creoles and the colonial era. The museum offers educational programs, workshops, lectures and events. Visitors can take tours to see a collection of furnishings and art from the era. Since then, Magnolia Mound had different owners and undergone renovations in its long history. Now the property is home to a historic museum operated by BREC, Baton Rouge’s parks and recreation agency.
Property details for 2079 Mound St
Known only as the "Long Estate", it served as a popular setting for fashion shows and club fundraisers. In later years, the porch and side entrance were altered with a caregiver's addition. From 1914 to 1916 it was called the "Bayview" Post Office, when mail was delivered by boat. In 1921 the bungalow roof was remodeled and the bungalow named "Bayview Lodge". A garage was also constructed because cars were now arriving over the first toll bridge to the island.
Inside the house is a museum that chronicles what little we know about the culture of the Calusa, as well as the history of those who took the land after them. On the back bay of Fort Myers Beach, overlooking the calm waters of the Estero Estuary, a two-story house sits on a hill. The Dodgers briefly led in the top of the 10th on Will Smith’s sacrifice fly.
Nearby recently sold homes
Mound House in Fort Myers Beach is a remarkable site that showcases the island’s rich history. This 2000-year-old Native American shell mound holds stories of the Calusa people and their way of life, which is told through the exhibits and artifacts displayed within the museum. Visitors can take a guided tour of the Mound House, which includes a walk through the beautiful park and a chance to witness the picturesque view of Estero Bay. The natural beauty of the surrounding area is equally impressive, with nearby beaches and wildlife preserves providing both adventure and relaxation opportunities.
Magnolia Mound Plantation House shows history of Louisiana’s colonial time, offers tours
They also engineered water courts with terraced mounds for higher and safer ground from high tides and hurricanes. Calusa people built shell mounds, which are called middens. Although eroded and altered by the human use of the last century, it is still a substantial midden, and home to the unique exhibit called "Stories Beneath Our Feet". Myers Beach incorporated, and Mound House was obtained as its first preservation effort.
During the WWII years the property served as an R&R facility for the military, and by 1947 the James Foundation established an experimental station as part of the WWII effort using the kitchen and garage. The northern tip of the island was where Ponce De Leon first met the Calusa people, Norris said. The bridge that connects Estero Island to main land is called Matanzas Pass bridge, meaning massacre pass.
MERTF pop-up tent brings education, activities to children at Mound House summer camp - Fort Myers Beach Talk
MERTF pop-up tent brings education, activities to children at Mound House summer camp.
Posted: Wed, 19 Jul 2023 07:00:00 GMT [source]
They saved the structure and site from being demolished and replaced by development. Today this property is a protected archaeological and historic site. Estero Island, known today as Fort Myers Beach, was surveyed and platted in 1876. Robert Gilbert filed his claim in 1898 to build the oldest remaining structure on the island known today at the Mound House. Built as a Tudor home with dock and cistern in 1906, it was known as the "Mound Villa", and in 1909, as the "Bungalow by the Banyan" when the brick structure was added. A kayaking tour is $45, which includes a guided tour of the museum.
In the 1950s an in-ground swimming pool was installed at the house. Although destructive, it allowed for the present day large scale exhibit to be created. Archaeologists have removed the swimming pool elements, cleaned the walls of the shell mound and exposed many layers of history. Visitors to Mound House today can tour this amazing "underground room" and see first hand what a midden looks like. Experience old Florida at Mound House where Estero Island’s oldest standing structure sits on an ancient Calusa Indian Mound. Through archaeology and history 2,000 years of island life are revealed in a variety of tours and educational programs.
No comments:
Post a Comment